Top Genealogy Websites for Finding Ancestors in the United KingdomEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The following Websites contain free or fee-based databases users can search for individual ancestors who lived in the United Kingdom.
- Expert Links: English Family History and Genealogy, is a well-organized, annotated list of links to searchable databases. Compiled by Price and Associates, a professional research company, this list seems to be a directory of sites often searched by the firm's associates.
- FreeBMD is a free site offering more than 203 million names transcribed from the genealogical community from many types of records.
- findmypast This subscription-based site includes databases and digitized records, including birth, marriage, and death (BMD) indexes, census records, migration indexes, military records, parish records, occupational records, and family trees uploaded by patrons.
- Ancestry (UK) The UK version of this subscription site offers digitized birth, marriage, death, census, court, emigration, immigration, military, and parish records, as well as 25 million UK and Ireland names within the Ancestry World Tree.
- Origins Network A subscription site offering searchable databases of over 80 million British and Irish names. Includes apprenticeship, burial, census, court, emigration, immigration, marriage, military, probate, taxation, voting, and other records.
- Global_Alliance_of_Genealogy_Professionals Listing of Professionals who can help you locate Ancestors in the United Kingdom. Free listing of fee-based independent researchers and other related experts.
- This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
- This page has been accessed 664 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More