Top Genealogy Websites for Finding Ancestors in the United StatesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

The following Websites contain databases users can search for individual ancestors who lived in the United States. Some of these Websites are free; others require a subscription fee.

  • Ancestry.com, a subscription Website encompassing other sites like Genealogy.com and Fold3.com, contains over 6 billion digitized records, including census, military, immigration, land, and vital records.
  • WorldVitalRecords.com, a subscription site, contains over 4 billion names. 
  • FamilySearch.org, a free site, contains databases of over 1 billion names, as well as digitized images of birth, marriage, death, census, church, military, immigration and other records.
  • Heritage Quest Online is a subcription site available at many libraries offering strong digitized collections of census records and over 28,000 scanned books. 
  • RootsWeb.com is a free site with databases, indexes, and digitized records.  
  • U.S. GenWeb is a free site containing user-submitted indexes, digitized images, and resources leading to U.S. records at the state and county level.
  • FindAGrave, a free site, contains over 65 million gravestone inscriptions, as well as digitized images and biographical information submitted by users.
  • Global Alliance of Genealogy Professionals Listing of Professionals in Genealogy related fields ready to help you find your family. We are "The place for all things Genealogy"

Related Pages

World Scout Jamboree 2011


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 July 2012, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 715 times.