Topcliffe, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Topcliffe

Guide to Topcliffe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Topcliffe, Yorkshire
St Columba Topcliffe Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth; Hallikeld
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Ripon; Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York; Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Topcliffe with Dalton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: Baddersby, Azenby, Catton, Crakehill, Dalton, Dalton near Thirsk, Eldmire, Eldmire with Crakehill, Elmer with Crakhall, Elmire, Elmire with Crakenhill, Elmyre with Crakehall, High and Low Catton, Rainton cum Newby, Rainton with Newby, Asenby, and Baldersby.

TOPCLIFFE (St. Columb), a parish, in the union of Thirsk, partly in the wapentake of Birdforth, and partly in the wapentake of Hallikeld, N. riding of York; containing 2964 inhabitants, of whom 706 are in the township of Topcliffe, 4½ miles (S. S. W.) from Thirsk. There are separate incumbencies at Dishforth, Marton, and Skipton. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Topcliffe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
TOPCLIFFE PARISH (1654) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1570-1887 1570-1887 1570-1867 1570-1867 1570-1851 1570-1851
FS 1714-1875

1714-1881

None

HATH 1654-1830

None

1654-1888

JOIN None

1812-1837

None

Baldersby registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Baldersby Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1858-1876 1858-1876

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464228.

Poor Law Unions

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 372-377. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 15 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,466 times.