Topsham, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Topsham, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Topsham, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Topsham, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas PLU
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TOPSHAM (St. Margaret), a market-town and parish, in the uinion of St. Thomas, hundred of Wonford, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Exeter. The church was nearly rebuilt in 1794, and was enlarged in 1827 and 1832. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Topsham, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Topsham, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1876-1906


BOYD

1600-1744


FMP 1600-1914 1600-1914 1600-1915 1600-1915 1600-1915 1600-1915
IGI 1600-1875
1600-1914


PALL

1790-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241330.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Topsham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-377. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 19 February 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 July 2015, at 21:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,971 times.