Tormohun, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Tormohun, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1637|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
TOR-MOHUN, or Tor-Moham, a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Haytor, Paignton and S. divisions of Devon with the town of Torquay. On a hill about half a mile from the church, are the remains of a chapel dedicated to St. Michael. The refectory was, many years since, converted into a Roman Catholic chapel, still existing
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Tormohun, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Tormohun, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Tormohun on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 28 November 2015, at 01:21.
- This page has been accessed 2,020 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News