Tortington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Tortington, Sussex
St Mary Magdalene Tortington West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Avisford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TORTINGTON, (St. Mary Magdalene)a parish, in the hundred of Avisford, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 2½ miles (S. W.) from Arundel. It is bounded on the east by the river Arun. The church is a small structure in the early English style, containing portions of Norman architecture; an arch of rich workmanship forms the south entrance, and another arch, separating the nave from the chancel, is ornamented with a curious moulding: figures of the Four Evangelists in stained glass were put into the east window in 1835. A priory of Augustine canons, in honour of St. Mary Magdalene, was founded here by the Lady Avicia Corbet, before the reign of John.[1]

See church history Tortington St Mary Magdalene

The church of St Mary Magdalene was declared redundant in 1978 and placed in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. St Mary Magdalene Tortington Wikipedia

Tortington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

Tortington Wikipedia List of places of worship in Arun which includes the closed/disused Anglican church and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 377-380.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Tortington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Tortington, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1571-1877 1583-1877
PRTS 1560-1902
1562-1901
1560-1902
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Tortington St Mary Magdalene

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1560-1974 Marr 1562-1676, 1700-1944 Bur 1560-1987

Bishop's Transcripts 1593-1987


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Tortington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

See Sussex Census



Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 377-380. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 768 times.