Torver, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashirego to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Torver, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Torver, Lancashire
St Luke's Church, Torver.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1690
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Torver St Luke was created a chapel of ease in 1747 from, and lying within the boundaries of Ulverston St Mary, Lancashire Ancient Parish.

Torver is a hamlet in the South Lakeland district of Cumbriasince 1974 ( historically in lancashire); three miles (5 km) south-west of the village of Coniston and a mile (0.5 km) to the west of Coniston Water

"TORVER, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 6 miles west by southwest from Hawkeshead. The chapel was erected before 1661

The Baptists have a place of worship."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Torver chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ulverston to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


TORVER Chapelry  (1599) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1792 1599-1785 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1599-1836 None
AC 1599-1792 1599-1792 1599-1792
ULVERSTON ST MARY PARISH (1545) Indexes (ancient parish containing TORVER Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1546-1910 1545-1914 1678-1903
LOPC 1771-1780, 1813-1841 1545-1617, 1771-1780, 1821-1841 1771-1780, 1814-1841
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1545-1837 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Torver and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ulverston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ULVERSTON ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 377-380. Date accessed:19 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,932 times.