Tottington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Tottington, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tottington, Lancashire
St. Ann's church, Tottington .jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury; Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1799
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prestwich
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

TOTTINGTON LOWER-END, a township with a chapel, in the parish and union of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 3 miles northwest by west from Bury. A part of the township has been formed into an ecclesiastical district, of which the boundary on the north is Holcombe Brook, on the south the township of Elton, and on the west Bradshaw and Quarlton. The church, dedicated to St. Ann, was built in 1799. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.—See Holcombe and Ramsbottom.

Tottington was created a chapel of ease in 1802 from, and lying within the boundaries of Bury St Mary, Lancashire Ancient parish. Other places in the parish include: Foe Bank, Tottington Lower End, Tottington Higher End, and Foebank.[1]

Tottington is a town in Bury, within the Metropolitan Borough of Bury, in Greater Manchester, England.

Tottington was originally part of the larger Royal Manor of Tottington which stretched from Musbury and Cowpe with Lench in the north to Affetside in the west and Walshaw in the south.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Tottington chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


TOTTINGTON ST ANNE Chapelry  (1799) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1752-1754, 1770-1862 None 1791-1862
LOPC 1799-1838 None 1799-1838
LBMD 1837-1910 1862-1900 1837-1885
AC 1799-1837 None 1799-1837
BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes (ancient parish containing TOTTINGTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Tottington and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. Anne's Church, Tottington, 1799-1998 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Tottington is a chapelry in Bury parish. Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L105/1/1, L105/2/1-5, L105/DRO2, L105/1/4/1-3, DRO3, L105/DRO4.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1844-1964.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408781 Items 5 - 6
Baptisms and burials, 1799-1812 (includes vestry meeting minutes, 1853-1858; churchwarden accounts, 1800-1833). Baptisms, 1813-1844. Marriages, 1862-July 1944.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408782
Marriages, June 1944-1951. Burials, 1813-1954. Banns of marriages, 1863-1898, 1908-1935. Register of grave owners, 1906-1966 (includes index). Monumental inscriptions from old part of graveyard, ca. 1841-1958.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408783
Register of graves, 1906-1998 (section east of Royd Street) (includes index).
FHL BRITISH Film
1408784 Item 1
Baptisms, 1799-1837; burials, 1799-1837 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
2113215

Tottington St Anne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][2]
Tottington St Anne Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1799-1812 1799-1812 1799-1812 1799-1812 1799-1812] 1799-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306924.

Genealogy

Todd, Andrew. A Lancashire Family 22: Coop of Booth - Fire, Feud and Fatality at a Tottington Farm.  A history, OS map and part of the Greenhalgh note, re the feud,  and Family tree of Joshua Coop and Elizabeth surname unknown, from dates 1777 to 1881, also with surnames, Cowpe, Taylor, Penshaw, Lord, Greenhalgh, Haworth and Barlow. The Booth Hall farm is still there today, Between Tottington and Walshaw near Bury, Lancashire. One part of the family did emigrate to USA. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol.10, no. 2, pages 20-31. FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Hopkinson, Rae Y.  Hopkinson, Hutchinson, Greenhalgh of Tottington and Elton.  History and family tree of Thomas Greenhalgh, Edward Hopkinson and Phebe Greenhalgh with the following surnames, Roninson, Hamer, Browne, Rothwell, Holland Bowken, Pilkington, Appleton, Reed, Leigh, Booth, Roscow, Rudman, Fenton, Massey, Walker, Nelson, Scholes, Hannam, Hunt, Hutchinson and Holden.  Article in the Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine. Vol. 10. no. 4. pages 17-20

Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire Haslingden, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53015 British History Online Tottington

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 380-386. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  2. 'Manchester, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1541-1812', Ancestry, accessed 25 August 2014.
  3. 3.0 3.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 2,468 times.