Tottington Higher End, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Lancashire go to  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Tottington Higher End, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stubbins St Philip contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

Tottington was created a chapel of ease in 1802 from Bury St Mary, Lancashire Ancient Parish. The mother church for Tottington, Lancashire dates from this period.

Other places in the parish include: Foe Bank, Tottington Lower End, Tottington Higher End, and Foebank.

The name derives from the old English for "Tota's people's village".
Tottington was originally part of the larger Royal Manor of Tottington which stretched from Musbury and Cowpe with Lench in the north to Affetside in the west and Walshaw in the south.

Tottington is a town in Bury, within the Metropolitan Borough of Bury, in Greater Manchester, England.

The more modern ecclesiastical parish of St Philip, Chatterton Road,Stubbins was created from a former school room in 1927.

TOTTINGTON HIGHER-END, a township, in the parish of Bury, union of Haslingden, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 5 miles (N.) from Bury, on the road to Haslingden and Burnley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306924.

Poor Law Unions

Haslingden, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 380-386. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,414 times.