Tovil, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Tovil, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tovil, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Maidstone; Maidstone Borough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone PLU
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tovil is a civil parish within the borough of Maidstone in Kent; see Tovil Wikipedia

Tovil St Stephen Ecclesiastical parish was formed in 1841 from parts of Maidstone All Saints, Kent Loose, Kent and East Farleigh, Kent

The church of St Stephen, Church Road, Tovil has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

See Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

No microfilm results can be found in search for Family History Library film numbers
Tovil

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306882.



Poor Law Unions

Maidstone Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

TOVIL, a hamlet in Maidstone parish, and a chapelry partly also in Loose and East Farleigh parishes, Kent. [1]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,433 times.