Toxteth Park St Clement, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Toxteth Park St Clement, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Toxteth Park St Clement, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool Borough; West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union West Derby PLU
Registration District West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool South
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Chapelry History

Toxteth St Clement was built as a district church in the year 1841 and lay partly within the West Derby parish, and was also partly considered an extra-parochial tract within Liverpool.

There is some ambiguity as to the origin of the name. One theory is that the etymology is "Toki's landing-place". However, Toxteth is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086, and at this time, it appears as "Stochestede", i.e. "the stockaded or enclosed place", from the Anglo-Saxon stocc "stake" and Anglo-Saxon stede "place" (found in many English placenames, usually spelled stead).

The ancient township of Toxteth contains the ancient village of Smeedon or Smithdown. It stretches over an area of three miles along the River Mersey and two miles inland, the highest point being on the corner of Smithdown Lane and Lodge Lane. An ancient brook ran from the northern end of the area towards the river, near the boundary of Parliament Street, where it was used to power a water wheel before it ran into the river. Along the river are two creeks, one near the middle is known as Knot's Hole and another further south called Dickinson's Dingle received a brook which ran past the east end of St Michael's Church.


TOXTETH-PARK, an extra-parochial district, in the union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire; forming the south or south-eastern suburb of the town of Liverpool; Dingle Chapel, originally episcopal, was rebuilt in 1774 as a Presbyterian place of worship, and was enlarged in 1842: there is a small endowment for the minister. The Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Welsh Methodists and Baptists, and other dissenters, have also places of worship, chiefly at Harrington. St. Patrick's Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions exist for Toxteth Park St Clement's Chapelry registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TOXTETH PARK ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1856 None None
LOPC 1890-1895 1892-1901 None
LBMD None 1842-1951 None
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911  1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC  1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812

To view a full list for Liverpool's Parishes, (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.

Original Records

Toxteth Park St Clement's Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438719.


Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union Toxteth Park, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 380-386. (1848), pp. 380-386. Accessed 19 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,990 times.