Trawden, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Trawden, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

History

Trawden St Mary the Virgin is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created in 1845 from Colne Christ Church, Lancashire  Ecclesiastical Parish.

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Trawden St Mary Lancashire contributor Robert Wade.jpg

Chapel History

TRAWDEN, or Trawden-Forest, a township with a chapel, in the parochial chapelry of Colne,and in the parish of Whalley, union of Burnley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 1¾ mile southeast of Colne. The entire township, with the exception of the village of Wynewall, was constituted an ecclesiastical district in August 1845, and a church was consecrated in July 1846, dedicated to St. Mary.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is  Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Trawden chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


TRAWDEN ST MARY Chapelry  (1846) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1846-1900 1846-1900 None
LOPC 1846-1900 1846-1900 1846-1900
LBMD None 1846-1982 None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing TRAWDEN Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Trawden and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

{{British Census|306899}

Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to  Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, '[A Topographical Dictionary of England]' (1848), pp. 386-390. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,356 times.