Tregony, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Tregony, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tregony, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see St Cuby
Bishop's Transcripts: None; For records see St Cuby
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TREGONEY cum St. James, a market-town and parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 41½ miles (S. W.) from Launceston, and 248 (S. W. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resourses

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tregony, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Tregony, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1611-1812

FS PRs 1945-1983
PALL
1800-1812

TGEN
1661-1812


Cornwall Online Parish Clerk

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to [county] probate records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain


Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 386-390. Date accessed: 23 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

  


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 576 times.