Treleigh, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Treleigh, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Treleigh, Cornwall
St Stephen Treleigh contributor Rod Allday.jpg
St Stephen Treleigh contributor Rod Allday
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1862
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TRELEIGH, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish and union of Redruth, hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, 2 miles (N. E.) from Redruth. There are three places of worship for Dissenters.[1]

Treliegh St Stephen is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1846 from Redruth, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Treleigh, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Treleigh, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1862-1910
1866-1909
1866-1901
FMP 1862-1864
FS PRs 1862-1911 1866-1909 1866-1984

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 228

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/t_z/treleigh.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Treleigh George Pritchard who also offers his redruth/Gwennap website http://redruth-opc.tripod.com/contents.htm .

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241265.

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/treleigh-st-stephen/ for information about the parish

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 386-390. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,140 times.