Treslothan, CornwallEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Treslothan, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
TRESLOTHAN, a chapelry in Camborne parish, Cornwall; near Camborne r. station. It was constituted in 1845. 
Treslothan St John The Evangelist an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1845 from Camborne, Cornwall Ancient Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Treslothan, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Treslothan, Cornwall Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference: P 231
Non Conformist Churches
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/t_z/treslothan.php
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Treslothan . The website for Camborne, Cornwall http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~camborneopc/ is also useful.
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241263. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/treslothan-st-john-the-evangelist/ for information about the parish
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2014, at 13:42.
- This page has been accessed 866 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More