Trempealeau County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Trempealeau County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Trempealeau County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Address|| Trempealeau County Courthouse|
PO Box 67
Whitehall, WI 54773-0067
Trempealeau County Website
Trempeleau County Courthouse
PO Box 67
Whitehall, WI 54773-0067
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land recordsc;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Register in Probate
has probate records 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
Church History and Records
- Records of Zion, Trinity, and Edens Lutheran Church, Galesville, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Trempealeau Valley Lutheran Church (Located in Blair, Trempealeau County)
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Land and Property
Military History and Records
Civil War service men from Trempealeau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Trempealeau County.
- - 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company G (Men were listed in the Roster as being from the city of Albion, which could have been from the counties of Dane, Trempealeau or Jackson.)
- - 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
- Wisconsin, Probate Estate Files, 1848-1933 - includes Trempeleau county files from 1900-1920; via FamilySearch. As of 5/29/11 included images that can only be browsed, not searched.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Trempealeau County Historical Society
N33015 Square Bluff Rd
Whitehall, WI 54773
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Trempealeau County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Trempealeau, Wisconsin
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 18 November 2015, at 04:24.
- This page has been accessed 6,741 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News