Trent, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Trent, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trent, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horethorne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Sherborne PLU
Registration District Sherborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TRENT (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Sherborne, hundred of Horethorne, E. division of Somerset, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Sherborne.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Trent, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FMP = Dorset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Trent, Somerset Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1813-1889 1813-1889 1813-1909 1813-1909
FMP
1814-1837

MARR
1558-1754

NBI

1599-1936

The original parish registers are held at the Dorset History Centre.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Trent/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812,' Ancestry.
  3. 'Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906,' Ancestry.
  4. 'Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921', Ancestry.
  5. 'Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001', Ancestry. All accessed 28 July 2012.
  6. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,669 times.