Trent Vale, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Trent Vale, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trent Vale, Staffordshire
Trent Vale St John the Evangelist Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Trent Vale is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1844 from Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. TRENT-VALE, an ecclesiastical district, in the township of Penkhull, parish and union of Stokeupon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford, 2 miles (S. E.) from Newcastle. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Trent Vale St John the Evangelist fromed 1844 from Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire St Peter

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1844-1964 Mar 1845-1955 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1844-1853 Mar none Bur none


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 390-392. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 696 times.