Trentham, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Trentham, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trentham, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stone PLU
Registration District Stone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trentham
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Trentham St Mary and All Saints is an Ancient Parish.

TRENTHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stone, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Trentham St Mary and All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TRENTHAM PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1842


FMP 1558-1900 1558-1900 1755-1900 1755-1900 1558-1900 1558-1900
FREG 1538-1703, 1784-1787
1612-1758
1598-1634, 1813-1911
FS 1558-1852
1558-1852

IARC 1744-1812
1744-1812
1744-1812
JOIN
1706-1812

NBI

1558-1892
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1558-1950 Mar1558-1956 Bur 1558-1947
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1670-1852 Mar 1670-1852 Bur 1670-1852

Dresden chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DRESDEN CHAPELRY (1867) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1867-1900
1897-1906

FMP 1853-1900 1853-1900 1672-1901 1672-1901 1853-1901 1853-1901

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.

Poor Law Unions

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Trentham/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 390-392. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. .
  7. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 14:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,401 times.