Tresco, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

TrescoChurch.jpg

Contents

Parish History

TRESCOE, one of the Scilly Islands; 2 miles NW of St. Mary's. It is next in size to St. Mary's; contains a village, called Dolphin.[1]

Tresco St Nicholas  was enlarged between 1822 and 1824 by Christopher Strick, surveyor, and enlarged again in 1835 and survived until replaced by the present building in 1879. It occupies the site of an earlier church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

Tresco, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Tresco, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1677-1794, 1800-1901
1677-1794
1677-1794, 1869-1885


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241275.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:10.
  • This page has been accessed 531 times.