Trewen, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Trewen, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trewen, Cornwall
Trewen St Michael Cornwall contributor Derek Harper.jpg
Trewen St Michael Cornwall contributor Derek Harper
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Launceston PLU
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616; For more records see South Petherwin
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TREWEN (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Launceston, N. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 5¼ miles (W. by S.) from Launceston.[1]

Trewen (Cornish: Trewynn) St Michael OS Grid Ref SX2583 was a chapelry of South Petherwin, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Trewen, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
Trewen, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1675

COPC 1616-1905
1610-1911
1616-1911
FMP 1616-1905 1610-1834 1813-1837
FREG 1616-1905


FS PRs 1616-1905 1608-1908 1616-1907


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 235

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/t_z/trewen.php

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 390-392. Date accessed: 23 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:10.
  • This page has been accessed 985 times.