Trimdon, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Trimdon, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trimdon, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sedgefield PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1720
Bishop's Transcripts: 1783
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TRIMDON (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Sedgefield, S. division of Easington ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 9 miles (S. E.) from Durham. [1]

Additional information: Trimdon St Mary was created in 1755 from chapelry in Kelloe Ancient Parish. With the development of the colliery village of Trimdon a second church was established in 1874:

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/253 Date: 1783-1856  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1720-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Tr).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Trimdon are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Deaf Hill cum Langdale 1884-1987 (EP/DH).
  • Trimdon Grange 1918-1989 (EP/TrG).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241355.

Poor Law Unions

Sedgefield Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2014, at 18:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,035 times.