Trinity County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Trinity County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Trinity County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address|| Trinity County Courthouse|
101 Court St
Weaverville, CA 96093
Trinity County Website
County Recorder has birth and death records indexes1873-1905
birth and death records from 1905 marriage record rec indexes 1857-1905
marriage records from 1905 and naturalization 1850-1940
Court Services has divorce and court from 1881
probate records from 1887 and land records
18 February 1850: Trinity County was created as an original county. County seat: Weaverville 
"Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For tips on accessing Trinity County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Trinity County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Military History and Records
Regiments. Service men in Trinity County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Trinity County, California:
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trinity County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Trinity - Probate records.
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder.
- Trinity County CAGenWeb
- Trinity County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
- This page was last modified on 1 March 2014, at 02:55.
- This page has been accessed 3,603 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More