Troms County, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTroms County


Guide to Troms County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Troms is a county in North Norway, bordering Finnmark to the northeast and Nordland in the southwest. To the south is Norrbotten Län in Sweden and further southeast is a shorter border with Lapland Province in Finland. To the west is the Norwegian Sea (Atlantic ocean). The entire county is located north of the Arctic circle. Until 1919 the county was known as Tromsø amt. On 1 July 2006, the Northern Sami name for the county, Romsa, was granted official status along with Troms.

Contents

Family History Resources

Government Offices and Sites

Troms County Council

Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Troms County

HelgøyKarlsøy (Carlsøy)Skjervøy (Skjærvø)KvænangenNordreisaLyngenSørfjordTromsøTromsøysundHillesøyBergLenvikMalangenBalsfjordStonglandetTorskenTranøyDyrøySørreisaMålselvBjarkøySandsøyTrondenesHarstadKvæfjord (Kvedfjord)IbestadLavangenSalangenØverbygdBardu (Bardø)Troms Parishes 2x2.jpg



Map of Troms County

Troms County1.jpg
 

Cemeteries

Census Records

(Online at Digitalarkivet)

Transcripts of Troms county census, 1769-1770. [1]

An inventory of the census records for the years 1769-1771, 1793, 1796, 1800-1801 for several clerical districts in Hålogaland diocese which includes these counties: Nordland, Troms, and Finnmark in Norway. [2]

The 1891 census for Bergen, Bergen and Troms county, Norway. This census contains the persones navn, sex, postion in the family marital status, when born, place of birth, religion if not member of the state church, occupation, and other miscellaneous information. [3]

Census records in database format available at Digitalarkivet. [4] They are for 1663-1666, 1701, 1801, 1845 (for Tromsø and Kvæfjord only), 1865, 1875, 1900.

Church Records

Photos of churches in Troms

The Norwegian Church (Den Norske Kirke) kept the vital statistics of the population. See Church Records for the contents and in-depth descriptions of the records. The links to the records available at the Family History Library are found in the individual parish under the Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Troms County Section.

The National Archival Services of Norway maintains a website, Digitalarkivet.uib.no, in which you can search in transcribed source material for free. Images of the original church books have also been placed there. The Digitised Parish Registers interface can be used in English, Norwegian (Bokmål), Norwegian (Nynorsk) or Samisk (Davvisámegiella). However, the records are written in Norwegian.

Farm Books

Troms A list of farm books which have been printed in order of place, with author, year of publication, and remarks.

Land Records

1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.

Military Records 

Passenger Lists

Probate Records

Digitised probate records for Troms county


Skifteregister Troms 1690-1805 Probates for Troms 1690-1805 in a searchable database.

Militære skifter i Troms og Finmark 1741-1817 Military probate database for Trom and Finnmark counties.

Geistlige skifter i Troms og Finmark 1697-1824 Clerical probate records database for Troms and Finnmark counties.

Register: Skifteavskrifter for Lenvik 1706-1753 ved Lenvik Museum Database index for probate transcripts in Lenvik.

Probate Jurisdictions

Troms.jpg
Return to Norway Page

Taxation


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 21:12.
  • This page has been accessed 5,944 times.