Trotton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Trotton, Sussex
Trotton St George West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dumpford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660; Separate registers exist for Milland beginning 1825
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TROTTON (St. George), a parish, in the union of Midhurst, partly in the hundred of Easebourne, but chiefly in that of Dumpford, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3½ miles (W. by N.) from Midhurst. The parish lies on the river Rother. The church is principally in the decorated style, and contains a beautiful monument of brass inlaid with Sussex marble, to Lord and Lady Camois. There is a chapel of ease at Milland, near the border of Hampshire.[1]

A history of the church Trotton St George

The parish church of St George Trotton with Chithurst has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Trotton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Trotton Church wikipedia and the civil parish Trotton with Chithurst Wikipedia for Chithurst, Sussex church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Trotton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Trotton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1881


IGI 1571-1881 1500s-1876
PRTS 1571-1642, 1660-1881
1571-1901
1571-1642, 1662-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Milland registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Milland Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1825-1901
1827-1900
1825-1901
SOPC Undefined


Tuxlith chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tuxlith Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1581-1715, 1825-1876 1594-1820s
PRTS 1581-1715

1593-1721



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Trotton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 958 times.