Trowell, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Trowell, Nottinghamshire
Trowell St Helen Nottinghamshire.jpg
Trowell St Helen Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


TROWELL (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (W.) from Nottingham. The parish is bounded on the west by the river Erewash, separating it from Derbyshire.[1]

Additional information:

Trowell St Helen is an Ancient Parish in the Broxtowe district of Nottinghamshire. Part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Derbyshire neighbours Ilkeston, Derbyshire and Stanton by Dale, Derbyshire

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of this parish Trowell St Helen

The Parish church of St Helen has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building<br> fckLRfckLRSee also Trowell Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Trowell St Helen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TROWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1568-1956 Marriages 1570-1955 Burials 1568-1994 Bishop’s Transcripts 1621-1843

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Trowell

Trowell St Helen.  An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dated from 1760, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age at death. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 44-49, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Trowell in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,098 times.