Trowse, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes K-Z

Trowse, Norfolk
St Andrew's Church, Trowse .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Henstead; Norwich
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Henstead PLU
Registration District Henstead; Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695; For more records see Kirby Bedon
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brooke
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TROWSE-NEWTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (S. E. by S.) from Norwich. [1]


Trowse St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Brooke deanery of the Diocese of Norwich .

Here is an excellent 19th century historical perspective by the famous topographer, Samuel A. Lewis:

"TROWSE [or Trowse-Newton] (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (S. E. by S.) from Norwich; containing 562 inhabitants. It is bounded on the north by the river Yare, and comprises 1121a. 3r., of which 725½ acres are arable, and the rest pasture. The surface is varied, and Crown Point, an eminence in the parish, commands a fine view of Norwich, with the village of Thorpe and the rivers Wensum and Yare. The village is pleasantly situated on the river, and consists of neatly-built houses. There is an extensive flour-mill in Trowse-Millgate (which place, together with Brecondale [aka Bracondale] and Carrow, is within the county of the city of Norwich)." See also Lakenham.

Also nearby is Whitlingham, a "small churchless aprish and hamlet at the mouth of the River Wensum"[2] Whitlingham's church (St. Andrew) "was dilapiated about 1630."[3] "The tavern called Whitlingham White House, is in Trowse-Newton parish."[4]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Trowse, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Trowse, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1695-1749

FREG 1697-1907
1696-1912
1696-1908
FS PRs Undefined 1695-1912 Undefined 1754-1912 Undefined 1695-1907
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Henstead Poor Law Union

http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Henstead/Henstead.shtml

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. Whitlingham on Wikipedia
  3. William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845, Norfolk: Whitlingham, GenUKI
  4. William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845, Norfolk: Whitlingham, GenUKI
  5. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 02:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,058 times.