Trumbull County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Trumbull County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Coordinates: 41.32°0′N 80.76°0′W / 41.32°N 80.76°W / 41.32; -80.76
Trumbull County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Trumbull County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Trumbull County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Trumbull County Courthouse
160 High St. NW

Warren, Ohio 44481
Trumbull County Website

United States Gotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Trumbull County


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1803
1867

1795
1803
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Jefferson and Wayne of Northwest Territory in 1800.
  • County Seat: Warren
     



Neighboring Counties

Ashtabula County  • Geauga County  • Portage County  • Mahoning County  • Lawrence County, Pennsylvania  • Mercer County, Pennsylvania  • Crawford County, Pennsylvania


Lake CountyGeauga CountyCuyahoga CountyLawrence CountyButler CountyVenango CountyMercer CountyErie CountyCrawford CountySummit CountyPortage CountyAshtabula CountyTrumbull CountyMahoning CountyOHTrumbull1.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

See the book, Trumbull County Ohio Cemetery Inscriptions 1800-1930 compiled and published by the Trumbull County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society (1983), for a record of tombstone inscriptions found in all of the known cemeteries in the county. Several transcriptions were compiled into this one volume.

ONLINE:

Interment.com - Trumbull County Cemeteries - http://www.interment.net/us/oh/trumbull.htm
FindAGrave.com - Trumbull County Cemeteries


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records
  • Brookfield
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Trumbull County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Allison, Calvin Grace, 19th Century Voices of Trumbull County, Ohio, (Warren, Ohio: Ohio Genealogical Society. Trumbull County Chapter, 1993). FHL book 977.138 H2a
  • Varner, Emily L., Trumbull County, Ohio, Spanning the Generations, 1795-2002, (Cortland, Ohio: Howland Printing, 2003). FHL book 977.138 D2v

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Trumbull County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Trumbull County.
- 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and K
- 105th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B, C, and I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Trumbull County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Courtesy of The Warren-Trumball County Public Library:

Warren Tribune Chronicle:

  • Obituraries: 1900-1938
  • Obituaries: 1970, part of 1980, 1981, 1987, 2009

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Trumbull County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Trumbull County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Trumbull County Archives

Emily Varner, Archivist. Stone Building, 118 High Street NW, Warren, OH 44481. website

The archives includes and maintains the following records:

  • Auditors Tax Duplicates 1811, 1839-1946
  • Auditors Transfer Lists 1960-1992
  • Births 1867-1908
  • Commissioners Journals 1828-1929
  • Deaths 1867-1908
  • Estates 1803-1989
  • Marriages 1800-1995
  • Mortgage Records & Indices 1850-1947
  • Probate Records 1803-1953
  • Probate/Administration Docket 1837 on
  • Probate Journals 1854-1966
  • Wills 1841-1966
Courthouse

Trumbull County Courthouse
160 High St NW
Warren, OH 44481
Phone: 330.675.2557

Clerk Court has divorce, court and naturalization
records from 1800;  Probate Judge has marriage
and probate records; County Recorder has land records[2]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
  • Warren-Trumbull County Public Library

Local History and Genealogy Room
444 Mahoning Avenue NW
Warren, Ohio 44483
(330) 399-8807 ext 120

Unique collections include, among others:

WINNAGLE COLLECTION contains research materials gathered on local families by genealogist Grace Marvin Winnagle (1882-1965). A wide variety of collected data and correspondence is included.

UNUSUAL SOURCES (Records from the Ohio Penitentiary, Ohio Reformatory (Mansfield), the Ohio School for the Deaf & Dumb (Columbus), the Boys Industrial School (Lancaster) and the Girls Industrial School (Delaware) are on microfilm for the early years.)

Museums
Societies
  • Trumbull County Genealogical Society

PO Box 309
Warren, Ohio 44482

  • Ohio Historical Society

Archives/Library
1982 Velma Avenue
Columbus, OH 43211-2497
(614) 297-2510

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

  • 1800–1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. Name index of tax records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. The majority of the tax records in this collection are for the years 1816 through 1838. Currently (September 2012) this collection is 17% complete. Additional records will be added as they are completed.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

 Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Trumbull County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Trumbull County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Trumbull County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Births

Online Birth Indexes and Records

  • 1867-1908. Births were not required to be recorded until 1867, and are generally not available prior to that date. The Trumbull County Archives has birth records from 1867-1908 indexed alphabetically on cards.
  • 1908-present. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the birth records from 29 Dec 1908 to present.

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriages

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

  • 1800-Sept 1995. The Trumbull County Archives has both an alphabetical card index, and actual certificates available. Marriage licenses are available from 1816, when they were kept separately, but in 1891 they were combined with the marriage certificates.

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Deaths

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1808-1975, Records. The Trumbull County Archives has transcripts of each case from civil, criminal and divorce courts, in Common Pleas Court Journals and Common Pleas Court Record Books.
  • 1949-present, Abstracts. Abstracts of original divorce decrees from 7 Sep 1949 to present are maintained at the Ohio Department of Health. Records prior to this date are generally maintained in the probate court of the county in which the original marriage license was filed.
  • 1867-1908. The Trumbull County Archives also has the death records for this time period indexed alphabetically on cards. Deaths were not required to be recorded until 1867.
  • 1908-1944. The Ohio Historical Society maintains death certificates for the state from 20 Dec 1908 - 31 Dec 1944.
  • 1945-present. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the death certificates for this time period.
  • Death certificates online:1908-1953 Free name indexes and certificate images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

  • Townships are 5 miles by 5 miles square
  • Trumbull originally had 25 townships
  • Presently there are 24 towships, 6 cities and 5 villages

Townships

Bazetta | Bloomfield | Braceville | Bristol | Brookfield | Champion | Farmington | Fowler | Greene | Gustavus | Hartford | Howland | Hubbard | Johnston | Kinsman | Liberty | Mecca | Mesopotamia | Newton | Southington | Vernon | Vienna | Warren | Weathersfield

Cities

Cortland | Girard | Hubbard | Newton Falls | Niles | Warren

Villages

Lordstown | McDonald | Orangeville | W. Farmington | Yankee Lake

Neighboring Counties

References

  1. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Trumbull County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 16,827 times.