Tucker County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
West Virginia Tucker County
Guide to Tucker County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Tucker County, West Virginia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of West Virginia | |
![]() Location of West Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 7, 1856 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Parsons |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Tucker County Courthouse 215 1st Street Parsons, WV 26287 Phone: 304-478-2414 Tucker County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has bird, marriage, death since 1856 Clerk Circuit Court has Divorce & Court Records & Naturalization Records[1]
History
Parent County
1856--Tucker County was created 7 March 1856 from Randolph County.
County seat: Parsons [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Tucker County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Tucker County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
Military
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Naturalization
- West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Newspapers
Probate
Tucker County, West Virginia Will Books 1825 - 1970
- West Virginia Will Books
Taxation
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1856-1969 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
Learning How toEdit our Wiki Sites
![]() |
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos. |
|---|
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tucker County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This West Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 April 2013, at 01:57.
- This page has been accessed 1,723 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



