Tuckingmill,CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Tuckingmill, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tuckingmill,Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TUCKINGMILL, a chapelry in Camborne and Illogan parishes, Cornwall; 1 mile NNE of Camborne r. station. It was constituted in 1844.[1]

Tuckingmill All Saints is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1844 from  Camborne, CornwallAncient Parish and Illogan, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

Tucking Mill was the Cornish term for a fulling mill which was where homespun cloth was dipped, cleansed and dressed, there is a mention of a fulling mill in this region as early as 1250. During the nineteenth century Tuckingmill was at the heart of Cornish industry.

Situated within the parish was the Bickford Fuse Factory, where the world’s first Safety Fuse was invented and manufacture.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Tuckingmill,Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Tuckingmill,Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1845-1902
1845-1911
1845-1936
FMP 1845-1847




FS PRs


1885-1907

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 240

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Tuckingmill. Sally Cann also maintains her Camborne, Cornwall website  which includes material for Tuckingmill. Sally is the Online Parish Clerk for Camborne.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241263.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Tuckingmill in GENUKI

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,457 times.