Tudeley, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Tudeley, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tudeley, Kent
Tudeley All Saints Kent.jpg
Tudeley All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Washlingstone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tonbridge PLU
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1717
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tudeley-cum-Capel is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent Tudeley Wikipedia

Tudeley All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; Capel, Kent was formed as chapelry within the parish. A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you and includes the Five Oak Green United Church. The church of All saints is noted for its stained glass windows Church website

The church of All Saints Tudeley Lane Capel has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society  and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 256-260. Date accessed: 25 November 2013. at British History Online

See Tudeley North West Kent Family History Society and Tudeley All Saints


Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tudeley, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Tudeley, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1663-1683, 1813-1870 (gaps)
1663-1683, 1813-1837

FS BTs 1716-1904 1716-1904 1716-1904
FS PRs 1661-1683, 1702-1812 1661-1683, 1702-1812; 1755-1812 (banns) 1661-1683, 1702-1812
IGI 1702-1848, 1858-1870 1663-1683, 1702-1812

Prior to the 1868 formation of Capel, Kent as a separate parish, Capel events may be found in the All Saints registers.

International Genalogical Index Batch Numbers

  • Christenings 1702-1848 Batch C135202
  • Christenings 1858-1870 Batch C135203
  • Marriages 1663-1683 Batch M135201
  • Marriages 1702-1812 Batch M135202

Land Tax

Images for Tudeley are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Tudeley 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

TUDELY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tonbridge, partly in the hundred of Twyford, but chiefly in that of Washlingstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2 miles (E. S. E.) from Tonbridge. [5]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 398-401. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:24.
  • This page has been accessed 2,179 times.