Tufton, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tufton, Hampshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Tufton

Guide to Tufton, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tufton, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pre-1834 - Wherwell; Post-1833 - Evingar
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Whitchurch
Registration District Whitchurch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714; For more records see Wherwell
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Andover
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Parish History

TUFTON, or Tuckington (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Whitchurch, hundred of Wherwell, Kingsclere and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, ½ a mile (S. W.) from Whitchurch. [1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tufton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
TUFTON PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FMP 1700s-1800s

FS 1716-1879




PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288796.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 398-401. Date accessed: 05 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 1 (1900). Digitised by GENUKI - free.
  7. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 3,140 times.