Tulalip Indian Agency (Washington)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Tulalip Indian Agency (Washington)

 

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Lummi, Muckleshoot, Port Madison, Swinomish, Tulalip, and others

History

The Tulalip Agency was established in 1861 for Indians living on the eastern side of Puget Sound on the Tulalip, Port Madison, Swinomish (Perry's Island), and Lummi Reservations. The Muckleshoot Indians were assigned to the Puyallup Agency. During the years 1865-1869, a single agent served both the Tulalip and Puyallup Agencies. In 1882, there was a brief consolidation of the Puyallup Agency, the Skokomish Agency and the Tulalip Agency.

When the Cushman Agency and School closed in 1920, the Muckleshoot Indians were returned to the Tulalip Agency. In 1950, the Tulalip Agency and the Taholah Agency were merged to form the Western Washington Agency[1][2].

Records

Many records of the Tulalip Agency are in the Pacific Alaska Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Seattle[3], including:

  • Tribal census rolls, 1890-1929
  • School census records, 1890-1950
  • Records of births and deaths, 1897-1949
  • And many other administrative and financial records

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for Yakima Agency, 1881-1899, are on roll 53 of that Microcopy set[4]. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll number 1617726).

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1885-1939. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 582 thru 593[5]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 583041-583052). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

The 1900 federal census included population schedules for the Tulalip Indian Reservation. The census includes the non-Indian employees of the Tulalip Agency, as well as many pages of Indian Population Schedules for the native population of the Reservation. They are recorded as District 252, Tulalip Indian Reservation, in Snohomish County, Washington.

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Tulalip Agency, 1907-1936, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Rolls 152-156[6], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm numbers 1724370-1724374. Reports for some years are missing.

Records available through the Family History Library

Allotment and Land Records 1883-1932. FHL Film: 1024291-1024294

Annuity, survey cards, family records 1925-1946. FHL Film: 1024297

Census Records 1890-1929. FHL Film 1024295

Enrollment Records 1917-1936. FHL Film: 1024296

Heirship Records 1911-1950. FHL Film: 1024229-1024231

Land and Property 1902-1946. FHL Film: 1024277-1024287

School Records 1890-1950. FHL Film: 1024288-1024290

Vital Records 1897-1949. FHL Film: 1024232

Vital Records 1924-1931. FHL Film 583049


References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 195-196.
  2. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 187.
  3. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1070, p. 48.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  6. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 January 2011, at 07:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,120 times.