Tulsa County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Tulsa County

Tulsa County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19
Tulsa County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Tulsa County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1905
County Seat Tulsa
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Tulsa County Courthouse
500 S. Denver Ave.
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103-3835
Phone: 918.596.5000

Contents

County Courthouse

Tulsa County Courthouse
500 S Denver Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74103-3835
Phone: 918.596-5000 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907[1]

History

Parent County

1905--Tulsa County was created in 1905 from Creek and Cherokee Lands.
County seat: Tulsa [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

The Tulsa Genealogical Society published a12-volume funeral home record.  These records cover the period from 1906 to 1986 and are available at the Family History Library.  An index to these volumes is found on the Tulsa Genealogical Society Website.

Individual cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Tulsa County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Tulsa

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tulsa County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Oktulsa.jpg


Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Tulsa County

Map showing Civil war battles in Oklahoma

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tulsa County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

Genealogy Center of the Tulsa City-County Library

Tulsa Genealogical Society Library
Tulsa Genealogical Society Home Page

Tulsa Historical Society
Broken Arrow Historical Society

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tulsa County, Oklahoma. Page 562 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 5,142 times.