Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Tunbridge Wells, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity, Kent
Trinity Arts Centre Tunbridge Wells Kent.jpg
Trinity Arts Centre Tunbridge Wells Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherfield; Tonbridge Lowey; Washlingstone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tonbridge PLU
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1533; Separate registers exist for Tunbridge Wells King Charles the Martyr beginning 1745
Bishop's Transcripts: 1745; Separate records exist for Tunbridge Wells King Charles the Martyr beginning 1745
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Royal Tunbridge Wells (usually shortened to Tunbridge Wells) is a town and district in Kent. Royal Tunbridge Wells Wikipedia

Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity was created as an Ecclesisatical Parish in 1833 from Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent.

The church was designed by architect Decimus Burton (1800-1881) and was the first Anglican church in  the new Georgian town of Tunbridge Wells.

The church was de-commissioned and declared redundant in 1975. The building became Trinity Arts Centre in 1983.

For further churches in Tunbridge Wells refer to Tunbridge Wells North West Kent Family History Society


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis, "A Tolpographical Dictionary of England" (1848) pp. XXX-XXX. Date accessed: 25 November 2013.

TONBRIDGE, or TUNBRIDGE, WELLS, a market-town and chapelry, partly in the parish and lowey of Tonbridge, and partly in the parish of Speldhurst, hundred of Washlingstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent. The district church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Independents, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1846, 1865-1866, 1889-1904


FS BTs 1745-1904 1745-1904 1745-1904
FS PRs 1862-1900 1863-1900; 1863-1900 (banns)

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Tunbridge Wells Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tunbridge Wells Christchurch Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1856-1864


FS BTs 1856-1903

Tunbridge Wells St Barnabas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tunbridge Wells St Barnabas Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1896-1904

Tunbridge Wells St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tunbridge Wells St James Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1862-1869, 1898-1899 (gaps)


FS BTs 1862-1899

Tunbridge Wells St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tunbridge Wells St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1858-1862


FS BTs 1858-1862, 1898

Tunbridge Wells St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tunbridge Wells St Peter Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1895-1901

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306858.



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-377. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,385 times.