Tunica-Biloxi Indian Tribe of LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Indians of Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Tunica-Biloxi Indian Tribe of Louisiana

Guide to Tunica-Biloxi Indian Tribe of Louisiana ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

To get started on American Indian Research

Choctaw Indian-Pisatuntema in Partial Native Dress with Choctaw Indian Native Hairstyle1909.jpg

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana
P.O. Box 1589
Marksville, LA 71351
Phone: 1.318.253.9767
Fax: 1.318.253.9791

History

Wikipedia:Tunica-Biloxi

Brief Timeline

1981 Federally recognized

Today tribal members live inMississippi and Louisiana.

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Tunica-Biloxi tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Reservations

Tunica-Biloxi Indian Reservation

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

See For Further Reading.

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 August 2015, at 15:37.
  • This page has been accessed 5,932 times.