Tunstall, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Tunstall, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walsham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Blofield PLU
Registration District Blofield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blofield
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TUNSTALL (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Blofield, hundred of Walsham, E. division of Norfolk, 2¾ miles (S. S. E.) from Acle. [1]

The ruined church of St Peter and St Paul now forms part of the parish of Halvergate, Norfolk and is part of the Freethorpe benefice in the Blofield deanery in the Diocese of Norwich. The Ancient parish church fell into disuse until part of it was restored in the early eighteenth century as a chapel and mausoleum. 

Additional photos and history are provided on the Norfolk Churches website.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Blofield 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Tunstall, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Tunstall, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs Undefined 1557-1908 Undefined 1557-1837, 1840-1905 Undefined 1557-1812
JOIN
1813-1837

Images of the parish register are available on FamilySearch Historical Records
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 353

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438867.

1891 Census Surname Index courtesy of  Pat Greetham 

Land Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Poor Law Unions


Blofield      http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Blofield/Blofield.shtml

The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 398-401. Date accessed: 29July 2013.
  2. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 22:59.
  • This page has been accessed 608 times.