Tunstall, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Tunstall

Tunstall, Yorkshire
Tunstall Holy Trinity Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling; East Hang; West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond PLU
Registration District Bedale; Northallerton; Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TUNSTALL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Patrington, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 5½ miles (N.) from Patrington. This place is of considerable antiquity, a church existing here in 1115, when Stephen, Earl of Albemarle, gave the church and tithes of Tunstall to the abbey of St. Martin.[1]


The ancient parish (AP) of Catterick was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1568.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Tunstall exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
TUNSTALL PARISH (1724) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1724-1856

1725-1840

None

JOIN None
None
None
AC None
None
None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Tunstall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Tunstall page.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464223.

Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 398-401. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,349 times.