Tunstall Christ Church, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tunstall Christ Church, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tunstall Christ Church, Staffordshire
Tunstall Christ Church Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolstanton and Burslem PLU
Registration District Wolstanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TUNSTALL, a considerable modern town, and a district parish consisting of the townships of Oldcott, Tunstall, and Ranscliff, in the parish of Wolstanton, union of Wolstanton and Burslem, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Newcastle. There are places of worship for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists, and Methodists of the New Connexion; also a Barker meeting-house.[1]

Tunstall Christ Church was created in 1837 from Wolstanton, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Subsequent mission churches of Tunstall St Aidan and Tunstall St Chad were formed from the parish (see below)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Tunstall Christ Church was formed in 1837 from part of Wolstanton, Staffordshire

Tunstall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
TUNSTALL PARISH (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1832-1900 1832-1900 1838-1900 1838-1900 1832-1899 1832-1899
FS 1832-1868


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1832-1959 Mar 1838-1978 Bur 1832-1929
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1832-1868 Mar none Bur 1832-1868 Bap/Bur missing 1838, 1840-1842, 1846-1852, 1854

Tunstall St Aidan former Mission Church to Tunstall Christ Church now closed

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1914-1965 Mar none Bur none It is advisable to search the Tunstall Christ Church baptismal register for earlier years
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No holdings

Tunstall St Chad former Mission Church to Tunstall Christ Church now closed

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1905-1975 Mar 1927-1976 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No holdings

Tunstall St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TUNSTALL ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1881-1900
1882-1900

FMP 1652 (sic)-1900 1652 (sic)-1900 1838-1900 1838-1900

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.

Poor Law Unions

Wolstanton and Burslem Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 398-401. Date accessed: 08 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,915 times.