Tunstead, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Tunstead, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tunstead, Norfolk
St-Marys-Parish-Church-Tunstead.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tunstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678; Separate registers exist for Sco'Ruston beginning 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698; Separate records exist for Sco'Ruston beginning 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TUNSTEAD (St. Mary), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Tunstead, E. division of Norfolk, 3¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Coltishall. [1]

Tunstead St Mary is an Ancient parish in the Waxham deanery of the Diocese of Norwich. Prehistoric artifacts have been found in Tunstead, such as a Mesolithic flaked axe and two blade like flakes. However there are not enough finds to suggest an early settlement, even though a Roman road passed close by through Sloley. Tunstead probably became a settlement in Anglo Saxon times, albeit a rather scattered one in clearings in the then extensive woodland. Its name derives from the Old English tun (meaning enclosure, settlement or farm) and stede (meaning place) (Source: Tunstead & Sco-Ruston website)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Tunstead, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Tunstead, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1678-1901
1678-1902
1678-1901
FS PRs Undefined 1678-1901 Undefined 1678-1901 Undefined 1678-1908
JOIN
1754-1837

NTA 1813-1901
1754-1902; 1754-1902 (Banns)
1735-1908
TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 285/ 1-7, 9

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Tunstead.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.workhouses.org.uk/Smallburgh/

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 401-404. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  5. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,564 times.