Turner County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Turner County
Guide to Turner County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Turner County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 18, 1905 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Ashburn |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Turner County Courthouse 219 E College Avenue Ashburn, GA 31714-1275 Phone: 229.567.2011 Turner County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Turner County Courthouse
219 E College Avenue
Ashburn, GA 31714-1275
Phone: 229.567.2011
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1906
and land records; Probate Court has birth, marriage,death,
burial and probate records[1]
History
Local histories are available for Turner County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1905--Turner County was created 18 August 1905 from Dooly, Irwin, Wilcox and Worth Counties.
County seat: Ashburn [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Bethel Baptist Cemetary
Big Creek Cemetary
Clements Cemetary
Clements Chapel Cemetary
Dakota Cemetary
Family Cemetary
Harmony Cemetary
Henderson Cemetary
Hopewell Cemetary
Inaha Cemetary
Liberty Wesyelan Cemetary
Mary Henderson Cemetary
New Hope Missionary Baptist Church Cemetary
New Mount Pleasant Baptist Church Cemetary
New Prospect Free Will Baptist Church Cemetary
Oakgrove Baptist Church Cemetary
Pate Cemetary
Piney Grove Cemetary
Pleasant Hill Cemetary
Prospects Cemetary
Rainey Cemetary
Rocky Mount Cemetary
Rose Hill Cemetary
Ross Cemetary
Salem Baptist Church Cemetary
Snow Ridge Cemetary
Sycamore City Cemetary
Taylor Cemetary
Westview Memorial Gardens
Widdons Cemetary
Zion Hope Cemetary
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- Pate, John Ben. History of Turner County. Atlanta, Ga.: Stein Print. Co., 1933. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Pate, John Ben. History of Turner County. Atlanta, Ga.: Stein Print. Co., 1933. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Turner County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Turner County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Turner County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Turner County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 23:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,349 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

