Tuscaloosa County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Tuscaloosa County
Guide to Tuscaloosa County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Tuscaloosa County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 6, 1818 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tuscaloosa |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Tuscaloosa County Courthouse 714 Greensboro Avenue Tuscaloosa, AL 35401 Phone: (205) 349-3870 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1823 [1]
History
Parent County
1818--Tuscaloosa County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee and Choctaw Cession of 1816.
County seat: Tuscaloosa [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Besides many other ways record loss can occur, tornadoes have been common and sometimes very damaging. Tuscaloosa County has been no stranger to very damaging tornadoes in its history, and in April 2011 alone it was hit twice by damaging twisters in separate tornado events. The second one on 27 April 2011 was the most devastating, and some city and possibly county offices, mainly in the southern half of the city, were hit directly by that tornado. It is also possible that other places where one might look for records, such as funeral homes, also were damaged, as other reports about other tornadoes in the two April 2011 outbreaks reported many places of that type were directly hit and destroyed in other areas of Alabama and several surrounding states.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Arbor Springs Cemetery, Northport BillionGraves
- Old Prewitte Cemetery, Northport BillionGraves
Additional Tuscaloosa County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1820 | 8,229 | ||
| 1830 | 13,646 | 65.8% | |
| 1840 | 16,583 | 21.5% | |
| 1850 | 18,056 | 8.9% | |
| 1860 | 23,200 | 28.5% | |
| 1870 | 20,081 | −13.4% | |
| 1880 | 24,957 | 24.3% | |
| 1890 | 30,352 | 21.6% | |
| 1900 | 36,147 | 19.1% | |
| 1910 | 47,559 | 31.6% | |
| 1920 | 53,680 | 12.9% | |
| 1930 | 64,153 | 19.5% | |
| 1940 | 76,036 | 18.5% | |
| 1950 | 94,092 | 23.7% | |
| 1960 | 109,047 | 15.9% | |
| 1970 | 116,029 | 6.4% | |
| 1980 | 137,541 | 18.5% | |
| 1990 | 150,522 | 9.4% | |
| 2000 | 164,875 | 9.5% | |
| 2010 | 194,656 | 18.1% | |
| Est. 2011 | 197,211 | 19.6% | |
Church Records
Court Records
- 1824 - Tuscaloosa County Alabama 1824 Subpoena Book. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Tuscaloosa County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Tuscaloosa County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2006. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.184 E7b.
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Tuscaloosa County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Tuscaloosa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Tuscaloosa County.
- - 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Warrior Guards"
- - 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "North Port Rifles"
- - 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Confederate Stars)
- - 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- - 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and K
- - 41st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, F and G
- - 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, H, I and K
- - 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F, formerly Company D, 2nd Battalion
- - 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company G
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Tuscaloosa County is in District 2.
Vital Records
Birth
- 1910-1922 - Tuscaloosa County Birth Index 1910-1922 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1821-1860, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1823-1895 - Tuscaloosa County Marriage Index 1823-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908-1922 - Tuscaloosa County Death Index 1908-1922 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. - free.
Societies and Libraries
Societies
Tuscaloosa Genealogical Society
TGS Treasurer
P.O. Box 020802
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Libraries
Tuscaloosa Library
1801 Jack Warner Parkway
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Telephone: 205-345-5820
Library collections include materials of local, state, and regional history as well as microfilms of the Tuscaloosa News. Limited research requests are honored; copy fees apply.
Family History Centers
For information about the resources at Family History centers, see Introduction to LDS Family History Centers.
Tuscaloosa Alabama Family History Center
2015 N 3rd Ave
Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Phone: 205-758-4820
Hours: T 6pm-9pm; W 9am-12pm, 6pm-9pm;
Closures: July 8 6-9pm;
July 14 6-9pm;
July 15 9-12noon;
July 28 6-9pm;
August 5 9-12noon;
August 11 6-9pm;
August 12 6-9pm
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Tuscaloosa County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tuscaloosa County p. 40. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 00:18.
- This page has been accessed 2,465 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

