Tusten, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Sullivan CountyGotoarrow.png Town of Tusten

Contents

Resources

Church Records

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Tusten-Cochecton Branch
198 Bridge Street
Narrowsburg, NY 12764
Phone: 845–252-3360
Email: plohr@rcls.org
Tusten Library is part of the [Http://www.rcls.org/maggen.htm Ramapo Catskill Library System] (RCLS) which through your library card you have access to some online history and genealogical databases from your home including: HRVH Historical Newspapers, and Hudson River Valley Heritage digital collections.

Societies

Tusten Historical Society
198 Bridge Street
PO Box 18
Narrowsburg, NY 12764
Phone: 845–252–3360
Email: tustenroots@lycos.com
Collection: (from Tusten website's Genealogy Tab)

  • Federal Census Records on microfilm from 1790 up to, and now including the 1930 Census rolls. For your information, census from 1790 thru 1850, show Tusten residents before Tusten was formed in 1853. (note: all of the census rolls include ALL Sullivan County townships, thus allowing researchers to peruse the census records of all 15 townships at our society here. The only indexed townships thus far, are Cochecton, Highland, Lumberland and Tusten.)
  • Civil War Veterans listed from the 1890 Special Census. This includes all of New York State, and the same for the state of Pennsylvania.
  • Church Records:
  • Lutheran Church records 1868 – 1901.
  • Methodist Records 1859 – 1925.
  • Delaware News-Times 1929 – 1969.
  • Tusten Vital Statistics: (Extracted records from various sources)
  • Births 1883 – 1925.
  • Deaths 1884 – 1949.
  • Marriages 1884 – 1949.
  • Tusten Cemetery inscriptions:
  • Beaver Brook.
  • Glen Cove.
  • Lava.
  • St. Francis.
  • Tusten.
  • 2 private cemeteries.
  • Marriage records for Tusten persons, extracted from Wayne Co., PA Prothonatory Office in Honesdale for Tusten persons from 1885 –1946.
  • Tusten Burial Permits for persons who died elsewhere and are buried in Tusten cemeteries 1933 – 1966.
  • Rasmussen Burials from 1904 – 1929.
  • Wills and deeds from 1800’s to early 1900; Some originals, some extracted from Surrogates Court in Monticello, New York.
  • Over 15,000 obituaries from area newspapers from the 1880's to present, on the computer, indexed and available for viewing. This was an eight-year project, now completed, being continually updated.
  • Recent additions to the shelves: Two binders of local history gleaned from newspapers; a binder of 256 pages of wedding announcements extracted from newspapers, indexed and cross referenced; a binder with collected photo’s of past residents (we still seek more past residents of our town.)
  • Access to the private genealogy files of a local genealogist, who may be able to put you in touch with others researching the same ancestors. These files contain the genealogy requests and replies, requested over a period of the past thirty years. For this service, call for an appointment.
  • The Tusten and Cochecton residents (only) who have wills at the Surrogates Court, in Monticello (our County seat) have been extracted from the Index Ledgers, showing the name, residence and file case numbers where a researcher can find the original will.
  • Extracted newspaper articles on the early history of the area, most of which came from the Delaware Valley News-Times published in Narrowsburg.
  • Local news items extracted from the Sullivan County Record, published in Jeffersonville, NY . The columns were called “Along the Delaware”. These run from late 1870’s to 1929. Then from 1929 the newspapers on microfilm to 1969. These local columns give a look into the way things were in the past, telling of births, deaths, the transfer of businesses and much more on the daily lives of early residents.

Town Clerk

Tusten Town Clerk
Kathleen Michell
210 Bridge Street
P.O. Box 195
Narrowsburg, NY 12764
Phone: 845–252-7146 Ext. 0
E-mail: townclerk@tusten.org

Town Historian

Tusten Town Historians

Barbara Buckman
380 Gables Road
Narrowsburg, NY 12764
Phone: 845–252-7575

Arthur Hawker
P.O. Box 148
Narrowsburg, NY 12764
Phone: 845–252-3553

The town of Tusten website has a Genealogy tab that lists resources in the Tusten Historical Society.

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Tusten, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2012, at 23:43.
  • This page has been accessed 832 times.