Tuttington, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Tuttington, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tuttington, Norfolk
St Peter and St Paul, Tuttington, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TUTTINGTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (E.) from Aylsham. [1]


Tuttington St Peter and St Paul is a round towered church and Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The church is one of the 124 surviving round tower churches in Norfolk, a late mediaeval building with later resorations.

Tuttington is a village is located in the civil parish of Burgh and Tuttington, in the English county of Norfolk. The village is 11.1 miles south of Cromer, 15 miles north of Norwich and 129 miles north-east of London. The village lies 3 miles east of the nearby town of Aylsham.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Tuttington, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Tuttington, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1900
1600-1899
1600-1900
FS PRs Undefined 1544-1791, 1793-1903 Undefined 1544-1903 Undefined 1544-1791, 1793-1904
JOIN
1813-1835

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 401/1-5

Images of the parish register are available at FamilySearch Historical Records

Parish registers for Tuttington

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Baptisms, burials, 1544-1794; marriages, 1544-1752. Baptisms, burials, 1793-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1903. Marriages, 1756-1813; marriage banns, 1756-1826. Marriages, 1813-1902. Burials, 1813-1904. Marriage banns, 1828-1903. FHL BRITISH Film 1951415 Items 5 - 13

Archdeacons transcripts, 1600-1812

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms and burials: 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages: 1601-1610, 1628-1633, 1668-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526781 Item 4

See also

England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 401-404. Date accessed: 30 July 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 November 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,438 times.