Twerton-on-Avon, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Twerton-on-Avon, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Twerton-on-Avon, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wellow
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Twerton-On-Avon (St Michael) or, formerly Twiverton St Michael is an Ancient parish and village on the Avon, N.E. Somerset,1 1/2 West of Bath. Its parish registers commence from the year 1538.[1]

TWERTON, or Twiverton, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Bath district, Somerset. The village stands on the river Avon, and on the Great Western railway, 2 miles W of Bath.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]

Twerton St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Twerton St Michael and All Angels Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1570-1840
1587-1645, 1658-1840
1538-1840
MARR
1587-1754

NBI

1813-1842

Twerton-on-Avon, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TWERTON ON AVON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Twerton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TWERTON ST PETER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1880-1908
1880-1905

Somerset Online Parish Clerks

Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.

Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Twerton/index.html

References

Gazatteer SOM-ZOZ British 942 E5ca v.6 at the FHL

References

  1. The British Library, Europeana.eu. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 April, 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 20:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,277 times.