Twickenham St Mary the Virgin, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Twickenham St Mary the Virgin, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.

Twickenham St Mary the Virgin, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isleworth
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TWICKENHAM St. Mary, a parish in the union of Brentford, hundred of Isleworth, County of Middlesex, 9 miles west and southwest of London. A district church dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was built in 1841. There were also places of worship built for the congregations of Independents and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

The Victoria County History of Twickenham (1962) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, estates, mills, economic and social history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Twickenham St Mary the Virgin Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1578
1578
1578
Images
1578-1812 (gaps) Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1814-1906 Ancestry[4] 1800-1921 Ancestry[5] 1814-1947 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1813-1831 BritishOrigins[7] 1538-1837 FindMyPast[8] 1563-1872 FindMyPast[9]
1538-1837 FindMyPast[10]
1538-1752 TheGenealogist[11]
1538-1816 FamilyRelatives[12]
1538-1812 Joiner[13]
1629-1630,
1639,
1813-1837
BritishOrigins[14]
    1800-1812 Ancestry[15]    
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[16]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438775.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Twickenham, Worton, and Whitton Manor (1400-1909) in Twickenham Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 January 2014.
  2. Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3, (1962), pp. 139-166. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 January 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Saint Mary the Virgin, Twickenham in Richmond upon Thames Borough and St Mary the Virgin, Twickenham in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary the Virgin, Twickenham in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Twickenham St Mary the Virgin in Richmond Upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Saint Mary the Virgin, Twickenham in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  8. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  9. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  11. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  12. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  13. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  14. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,477 times.