Twiggs County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Twiggs County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Twiggs County

Guide to Twiggs County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Twiggs County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Twiggs County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 14, 1809
County Seat Jeffersonville
Address Twiggs County Courthouse]
PO Box 202
Jeffersonville, GA 31044
Phone: 478.945.3350
Twiggs County Website


County Courthouse

Twiggs County Georgia Courthouse.jpg

Twiggs County Courthouse
PO Box 202
Jeffersonville, GA 31044
Phone: 478.945.3350

Clerk Superior Court has land, court and divorce records; Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
425 Railroad Street, N
P.O. Box 234
Jeffersonville, GA 31044
Telephone: (478) 945-3350
Fax: (478) 945-6751

Probate Court of Twiggs County
Twiggs County Probate Court
PO Box 186
Jeffersonville, GA 31044
Telephone: 478-945-3390
Fax: 478-945-6070

Beginning Dates for Twiggs County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Parent County

1809--Twiggs County was created 14 December 1809 fromWilkinson County. County seat: Jeffersonville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1901 The courthouse at Jeffersonville burned 7 February 1901. The county's courthouse records were a total loss.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bibb County  • Bleckley County  • Houston County  • Jones County  • Laurens County  • Wilkinson County

Twiggs CountyPulaski CountyBleckley CountyHouston CountyPeach CountyBibb CountyJones CountyBaldwin CountyMonroe CountyCrawford CountyTaylor CountyMacon CountyJasper CountyWilkinson CountyDodge CountyLaurens CountyHancock CountyGlascock CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyEmanuel CountyTreutlen CountyMontgomery CountyWheeler CountyDooly CountyLamar CountyGATwiggs.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Twiggs County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Twiggs County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Twiggs County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Twiggs County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Twiggs County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Wiregrass Genealogical Society
45 25th Ave.
Eastman, GA 31023

Central Georgia Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 2024
Warner Robins, GA 31099

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Twiggs County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 54-55. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2015, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 9,077 times.