Twin Falls County, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IdahoGotoarrow.png Twin Falls County

Guide to Twin Falls County Idaho genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Shoshone Falls, Twin Falls, Idaho

Idaho Wildlife Management Units.png Idaho
Online Records






Quick start:


Twin Falls County, Idaho
Map
Map of Idaho highlighting Twin Falls County
Location in the state of Idaho
Map of the U.S. highlighting Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 21, 1907
County Seat Twin Falls
Courthouse
IDtwinfallscourthouse.jpg
Address Twin Falls County Courthouse
425 Shoshone Street North
Twin Falls, ID 83303-0126
Phone: (208) 736-4004
Fax: (208) 736-4182

Contents

County Courthouse

Twin Falls County Courthouse
425 Shoshone Street North
Twin Falls, ID 83303-0126
Phone: (208) 736-4004
Fax: (208) 736-4182

County Clerk Recorder has birth and land records from 1907 and military records from 1919.
Court Services has divorce, probate and court records from 1907. [1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

1907--Twin Falls County was created 21 February 1907 from Cassia County. County seat: Twin Falls [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

This list of places in Twin Falls County, Idaho was compiled from the Lists of Places in Idaho in Wikipedia and from the map of Twin Falls County in Virtual Earth.

Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Twin Falls County, Idaho entries with names, images, or information.


Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Twin Falls County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Twin Falls[3].

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Twin Falls County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Twin Falls County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19105,258
19208,32458.3%
19308,7875.6%
194011,85134.9%
195017,60048.5%
196020,12614.4%
197021,9148.9%
198026,20919.6%
199027,5915.3%
200034,46924.9%
sources:[4][5]


For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

Church

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
  • Buhl
  • Bliss
  • Castleford
  • Filer
  • Hollister
  • Kimberly
  • Murtaugh
  • Roseworth
  • Twin Falls
  • Twin Falls 1
  • Twin Falls 2
  • Twin Falls 3
  • Twin Falls 4

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the Twin Falls county clerk for information about years covered and availability of such records in Twin Falls County.

Court

It appears that none of the earlier Twin Falls County court records have been microfilmed. We suggest you check Cassia County. For more recent records and the records they do have can be viewed at the Twin Falls County courthouse in Twin Falls.

Directories

The Idaho State Archives has in its collections city, county, state and regional directories.

City Directories

Farm Directories

The Gem State Rural's 1916-17 Farm Directory of Twin Falls County, Idaho is available at the College of Southern Idaho and the Twin Falls Public Library. It lists landowners by town, including those owning land in these two counties, but residing elsewhere. The size of the family, amount of acreage owned, the location of the land, and a list of crops and livestock raised on each farm is also included.

History

Land and Property

Twin Falls, Shoshone Falls, 2006.jpg
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Twin Falls County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Twin Falls, Idaho.

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Twin Falls County which was formed on 21 Feb 1907 from Cassia County, and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed some of the Twin Falls County land and property records, and the following can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:

Maps

Idtwinfalls.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Twin Falls County, Idaho for European and African American settlers included:

Military

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Twin Falls County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452222 and 1452224) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Naturalization

The original naturalization records of Twin Falls County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise have been indexed in their Index to Naturalizations.

Newspapers

Current
Historical

Copies of issues of many Idaho newspapers are in the collections of the Idaho State Archives.

Pension Records

Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Twin Falls County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index.

Old Age Pensions were also provided by the State of Idaho from 1931 to 1936. The original records for these pensions in the Idaho State Archives and have also been indexed. Twin Falls County Old Age Pensions are included in that index.

Probate

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the earlier probate records of Twin Falls County (it was Cassia County before 1907), and these films can be viewed at their facility in Boise.

For more recent probate records which may exist, it is recommended that you contact the Twin Falls County courthouse in Twin Falls.

Taxation

Any existing tax assessment rolls for Twin Falls County should be in the courthouse in Twin Falls and would need to be accessed by visiting there.

Vital Records

Births

The Birth Registers for Twin Falls County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Twin Falls County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.

There are 214 Twin Falls County births and christenings in the online Idaho Births and Christenings.

Marriage

Nearly 6400 marriages, 1907-1942, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

There are 5139 Twin Falls County marriages in the online Idaho Marriages.

Death

There are 969 Twin Falls County deaths and burials in the online Idaho Deaths and Burials.

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

  • Buhl Public Library
    215 Broadway N
    Buhl, ID 83316
    Phone: (208) 543-6500
    Website
  • Filer Public Library
    219 Main St
    Filer, ID 83328
    Phone: (208) 326-4143
  • Hansen District Library
    120 W Maple Ave
    Hansen, ID 83334
    Phone: (208) 423-4122
    Website
  • Kimberly Public Library
    120 Madison St W
    Kimberly, ID 83341
    Phone: (208) 423-4556
  • Twin Falls Public Library
    201 Fourth Ave E
    Twin Falls, ID 83301
    Phone: (208) 733-2964
    Website
  • Twin Falls County Historical Museum Filer, Idaho
  • Twin Falls County Museum
    ‎21337a U.S. 30, Filer, ID 83328
    (208) 736-4675‎

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Twin Falls, Idaho page 180, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  4. census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
  5. quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap5.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 10,293 times.