Twineham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Twineham, Sussex
St Peter Twineham West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TWINEHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. W.) from Cuckfield. The road from London to Brighton, by way of Hickstead, runs through the parish.[1]

A history of the church Twineham St Peter

The churchyard includes a Quaker burial ground 1694-1732.

The Parish Church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Twineham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

Twineham Wikipedia  list of places of worship in Mid Sussex Wikipediaand A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Burchall, Michael J.  A Hickstead Place Account Book.  A discussion of the importance of sources other than parish registers for learning about the lives of ancestors.  This discussion is primarily about the Lords of Twineham Manor and the Stapley family.  Other surnames mentioned are Wood, Saunders, Foord, King, Morley, Lockier, Lindfield and Dumbrell.  Covers years 1642-1745.  Article to be found in the magazine Sussex Family Historian Vol. 1. #2, Sept 1973, pages 47-48.  Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su

Church records

Twineham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Twineham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1606-1716
1606-1716

PRTS 1606-1641, 1664-1886
1606-1902
1606-1642, 1664-1902

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1716-1878 Marr 1716-1999 Bur 1716-1998 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1893


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Twineham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.



Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 843 times.