Two Mile Hill, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Two Mile Hill, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Two Mile Hill, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Clifton PLU
Registration District Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TWO-MILE-HILL, an ecclesiastical district or parish, in the parish of St. George, union of Clifton,hundred of Barton Regis, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 2½ miles (E.) from Bristol. It is situated on the river Avon, and lies along both sides of the high roads from Bristol to Bath and Marshfield.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans, and another for Primitive Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Date accessed: 05 March 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 21:04.
  • This page has been accessed 758 times.